Field stations

The University partners (UHEL, UTU, ÅAU) are represented by their main marine field stations, located along the W-E gradient of the Finnish southern archipelago zone (Husö, Seili and Tvärminne).

This setting offers FINMARI a range of research infrastructures for comparative spatial studies along environmental gradients, both in the field and in experimental laboratories. The facilities of each station offer sufficient overlap to enable this, but most importantly for FINMARI, the scientific niches of each field station complement each other. 

The fourth field station with advanced autonomous equipment is located on the island Utö, managed by FMI, with SYKE collaboration: Atmospheric and Marine Research Station providing continuous, real-time data from the marine environment and the lower atmosphere. This station serves also as piloting station for technology development and testing.

The university stations represent the pending Finnish participation in the ESFRI-consortium  EMBRC. The Finnish node is coordinated by Tvärminne station.


EMBRC - European Marine Biological Resource Centre