The Board is responsible for the strategic planning and development of FINMARI, the terms and conditions for open access, as well as budgeting of the infrastructure.

Environment Counsellor Saara Bäck, Ministry of the Environment (Chair)
Research Director Tanja Suni, Ministry of the Environment
Associate Professor Christoffer Boström, Åbo Akademi University ÅAU
Professor Petteri Alho, University of Turku UTU
Director Jouni Heiskanen, University of Helsinki UHEL
Director, Science and Innovations, Saku Vuori, Geological Survey of Finland GTK
Director Sami Niemelä, Finnish Meteorological Institute FMI
Director Anna-Stiina Heiskanen, Finnish Environment Institute Syke
Director Tero Eklin, Finnish Environment Institute Syke
Research Manager Meri Kallasvuo, Natural Resources Institute Finland Luke
Research Professor Maiju Lehtiniemi, Syke Marine Research Centre (Raporteur)
Consortium Manager Katri Kuuppo Syke Marine Research Centre (Secretary)

Management Group

The MG is responsible for daily operation of the RI, annual planning, networking activities, and facilitating active involvement of the Finnish and international scientific community in the RI development.

Research Professor Maiju Lehtiniemi, SYKE Marine Research Centre (FINMARI Director)
Acting Director, Research Coordinator Joanna Norkko, UHEL Tvärminne Zoological Station (Vice Director of FINMARI)
Associate professorJari Hänninen, Archipelago Research Institute UTU
Director Martin Snickars, Husö Biological Station ÅAU
Head of Unit Laura Tuomi, Marine Research FMI
Research Professor Aarno Kotilainen GTK
Research Manager Antti Lappalainen Luke

MG Deputy Members: Riitta Autio and Jukka Seppälä (SYKE), Laura Kauppi (UHEL), Veijo Jormalainen (UTU), Tony Cederberg (ÅAU), Lauri Laakso (FMI), Joonas Virtasalo (GTK), Timo Myllylä (Luke)

Consortium Manager Katri Kuuppo,  SYKE Marine Research Centre

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) consists of internationally acknowledged scientists in the area of marine and environmental sciences. The SAB participates in evaluation of external projects that wish to use the FINMARI infrastructure and provide feedback for developing the research infrastructure.

Scientific advisory board for the period 2021-2024:

Dr. Ingrid Puillat, European Commission, Joint Research Centre

Prof. Sebastian Diehl, Umeå University, Sweden; Professor in Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Prof. Urmas Lips, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia; Chair of BOOS Steering Group (Baltic Operational Oceanography System), member of Executive Directors Board for EuroGOOS (European Global Ocean Observing System)

Dr. Tatiana Tsagaraki, University of Bergen, Norway; Liaison officer of EMBRC Norway, AQUACOSM and AQUACOSM-plus RI

Dr. Ari Asmi, Director, Research Data Alliance (Europe) AISBL

Dr. Matthias Obst, University of Gothenburg, Department of Marine Sciences